Reading is the Cure for Writer’s Block

I haven’t been writing lately, but if you follow this blog, then you could probably tell. Inspiration to write is lacking, and I sit hours on my computer with an empty screen, watching the blinking cursor mock me. My will to write is hiding somewhere.

It’s not that I don’t want to write something. I really do, but words don’t come easy. It seems like my mind is somewhere else.

Throughout my life, if I have learned anything, then it was this lesson: never force the situation. Things will come in their own time, when they are ready. So I stopped opening a word document every time I logged into my computer (for a little while of course), and I focused on other things.

I have been reading a lot, lately, not that I don’t read books regularly, rather time has not been too kind for bookwork.  So I have been reading more than usual with books I don’t normally reach for, at least. I am more of the fantasy type, books with realities and destinations I’ll never experience. This time I spent the days reading books that is little closer to reality. I have read some that were fairly good, some that were kind of overwhelming (Cosmos by Carl Sagan is not for the faint of heart), and most importantly one that really pulled at the heart strings.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

I feel in love with this book from it’s unique writing style to Charlie’s eccentric (but wonderful) personality from the dark story hidden behind closed doors.  When I finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower, I felt like I knew more things, that I understood the big picture (which isn’t really true but it is what I felt). This book instilled in me a desire to write something worthwhile, something that makes people feel something once they finished reading.

So I am back at it again from a brief hiatus. I do not expect any miracles in my writing nor do I think I will be popping a New York Times Bestseller in the near future. I am just going to keep writing and improving upon myself, and I’ll keep reading books to remind myself why I write.

For those who find themselves with writers block, the only cure is time and finding content that inspires you: books, movies, music, art or maybe even people. The creative mind does not work on demand so sometimes you have to give it’s daily dose of inspiration to remind it why it indulges in the arts.

-The Daily Writer

 

Leave a Reply

